Buy Nice or Cry Twice

As of today I am 36w1d pregnant with my second little boy so I am expected to give birth… In another 8 years, or so it feels like. Since my due date is getting scarily close, little man and I went out today to get a breast pump!

january-5

I’m pretty frugal when it comes to most things for children. Clothes, books, even some furniture can be bought at consignment stores for significantly less than retail price and still be in fabulous condition. However, there was something about making the leap and buying a second hand breast pump on the Buy/Sell page that I kept thinking, “I should hold off” and “something tells me I need to look into this more.”

An excellent explanation I found was:

“In an open system, the pump’s motor can be exposed to your milk. This is important because the milk that is unintentionally drawn into the pump can often go unnoticed. This can result in mold growth and transmission of viruses.”

“A closed system breast pump is designed to keep every drop of your expressed milk away from the pump’s motor and into your collection container. This decreases the possibility of mold growth and infectious particles. Closed system pumps are considered more hygienic because they have a barrier, such as a filter, which catches any milk before it reaches the pumps working parts.”

Ultimately, I ended up picking up a Medela Swing Breastpump which is an open system pump and designed for one user. (There was even a warning notice in the box!) But the main thing I have learned from this experience is when it comes to anything regarding hygiene or where infection/disease could possibly be transmitted, do your research. Sometimes frugal isn’t always best.

RIP $248

2 thoughts on “Buy Nice or Cry Twice

  1. “RIP $248” – LOL! Yeah, they discourage sharing when it comes to breast pumps (though I didn’t know why exactly until I read this post!) I have a Medela manual pump and I like it well enough. Congratulations, you’re so close!! ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

