DIY Haircuts + A TV Obsession

 

When I started my frugal journey, I started by writing down all of my monthly expenses (rent, insurance, cell phone, etc.) and looked as to where I could cut trim the fat. Fast forward to now, and I’m looking our variable expenses (groceries, clothing, diapers, etc.). Coincidently, both my oldest son and my husband desperately need a haircut at the same time and I thought… Hey, I could give it a shot.

xander 1xander 2

This is the before and after picture of my son. We went to the store, picked up a $25 kit and gave it a go. Not pictured is the BIG patch that’s missing from the back of my son’s head from when he moved. But if I took anything from this experience, it’s that you can’t get better at a skill if you don’t try… And hair grows 😉 Plus, if I can cut both my son’s hair, that’s an estimated savings of $400 a year!

america unplugged

In other news, has anyone else watched America Unplugged?! I’m obsessed.

It’s a mini series on Netflix, (8 episodes), which highlights Americans who are living off the grid and have homes which are completely sustainable and self sufficient. The elaborate power systems, water systems and gardens that people have is incredibly inspiring.

With hydro costs soaring in Ontario, I can’t help but wonder what the long term savings vs up front investment would be to install solar power, or how reliant we are on grocery stores despite soaring food costs. Anyway, it’s a wonderful show for some self reflection and with 20 minute episodes, it’s a wonderful way to spend an afternoon 🙂

Happy Easter everyone!

Leave a Reply

